top of page

Maintaining Peace: “Giving Whatever it is to God & Not Picking It Back Up."


To my Sis struggling with her peace,



Peace is something that is so needed, especially in a world like today. It’s something that can’t be bought and can’t be made. But we all want it. Sis, can I ask you a deep question?---What is keeping you from having peace? Is it your perfectionism? Is it your fears/worries? Is it the current situation that you are in? Well, regardless of what it is, can I tell you that the peace that you need is already available? As someone that has dealt with anxious thoughts, I totally get you. It is a constant and daily reminder to grab a hold of this peace that God has already promised us.


Let’s look at John 14:27 which states, ”Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.” Sis, notice the details about this peace that God gives. He LEFT it with us which means we don’t have to go searching for it. He gave it to us so it is a gift which means the only thing we have to do is accept it. And the last thing that God said is that this a special kind of peace that “the world” cannot give. Sis, this peace that God gives is lasting. It doesn't make sense but it's free. And it's up for grabs.


Maybe it's the perfectionist in you or the "glass half empty" mentality keeping you from accepting this peace I'm talking about.


I read this quote that I believe will resonate with anyone struggling with perfectionism--


”When we feel the need to control every detail in our lives, what we're really looking for is that sense of long-lasting peace. What happens is that inside the mind of a perfectionist, they see everything wrong in the world. Their inner critic is so loud that they can't hear anything else. But God didn’t create us to struggle on our own. God did NOT design us to be self-sufficient. He created us to rely on Him. So there is a reason we feel incomplete and needy.”

Whew, that was a whole word. I don’t know about you but when I read this quote, I felt seen. I also felt triggered. Sis, if you struggle with perfectionism or anxiety, YOU ARE NOT ALONE. The key to relief is recognizing that we were never created to do it all on our own. That’s why it’s rough when we try to handle "it" all. What is "it" that you're trying to handle on your own? I get it. We live in a world where independence is celebrated. And we should be independent to an extent. We try to do everything by ourselves. But I'm realizing that we were never created to be completely independent. I feel like that is why we sometimes suffer from the emotion of feeling "overwhelmed." To me, it is our body's way of recognizing "You're doing too much." And it's God's built-in way of saying, "You need me."


God is like, give it to ME. Whatever "it" is for you. That doesn't mean we don't have to work for anything. We definitely have a part to play because faith without works is dead. BUT one of the greatest lessons I'm learning is that our relationship with God is a partnership. We have our part and he has his. Once we do our part, we hand whatever it is to God and let him handle it. And then leave it with Him. That’s been my biggest issue--dropping and leaving it with him. We can’t keep picking up what we gave to God.

I know this is easier said than done so here are a few quotes that can push you in the direction of peace!

  • “When someone feels they need to obsessively manage every area of their life, they're simply yearning for peace. In fact, we're all searching for it. We just have different ways we go about it. God fulfills that deep yearning for peace. We can't do it on our own — no matter how much we try.”

  • God says, “I carefully crafted your longings and feeling of incompleteness to point you to Me.”

These are my ABSOLUTE favorite quotes to hang onto, especially when I start to overthink:

  • Something to say to yourself---“I will exchange my overthinking for overwhelming peace that says, “I will be okay without knowing everything. I will still be worthy of love if I can’t fix everything. I can still have a meaningful life if I’m not where I thought I would be. Grace will still find me. Love will still find me. I can still have hope for tomorrow despite my uncertainty.

  • “Learn how to be where your feet are, be in the present moment, and find growth exactly where you are. Oftentimes we think of stillness as passive, and something to be avoided. When people ask us how we’re doing, we feel rushed to talk about all we are doing. When we have slower seasons, it can feel wrong. In reality, stillness is active. Stillness pulls us out of rushed thinking and into remembering what the soul knows: “there is no need to rush. Slow down. Be still. And trust.”


I’m praying for your peace, sis. A peace that goes beyond whatever is going on in your life. I may not know exactly what you are going through but I do know God is with you. You may not see it. You may not feel it. But if you call out to God, he will meet you wherever you are.


With Love.





10 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

©2019 by Letters to a Struggling Sista. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page